Home > iUI, jqplot, JQTouch, jQuery > The war is lost (for now)

The war is lost (for now)

After several hours of fighting with JQtouch I have given up for now. My application has a login screen that’s really just a simple form that I want to submit. If the login fails then the back end send a complete new page. To make it work with iUI I had to make a small modification to iUI to tell it to do a normal form submit (I added a tag to the form that the iUI javascript detects and does a normal form submit instead of using Ajax). In effect all that iUI is doing on my logon screen is formatting the html.

With jQTouch I just cannot get it to stop using Ajax. When it does I have the same problem as before in that it simply adds the new page to the DOM and I end up with duplicate logon ‘pages’ in the DOM, even though you can only see the last one because I put class=”current” on it.

If I turn off the jQT Ajax form submission using the init options then normal form submission just does not work either.

After some experimentation I got it to work with Safari on the desktop but it still would not work on my iPod. Plus I could not get a nice standard ‘whiteButton’ to work either as the submit button.

So that’s it for now, I’ve spent enough time on it. Part of the reason to use jQT was that it is built on jQuery and I want to use jqplot for graphing which is also built on jQuery so switching to jQT would result in using a common framework.

All that said though, jQT has some nice features, particularly the animations and I’ve learnt a heck of a lot more about building web applications for the iPhone/iPod Touch so it’s not been a waste of time at all. It is however time to start moving forward again.

Now I have to try to make iUI and jQuery/jqplot play together nicely. Should be fun!

Categories: iUI, jqplot, JQTouch, jQuery
  1. Greg Baker
    December 20, 2009 at 7:47 pm

    In the ajax call, specify a callback function that if the login failed, you use “window.location.href = some new page. That should work fine I would think.

  2. December 21, 2009 at 1:12 am

    Thanks for the feedback but I’ve decided to stop flip flopping and just go forward with what I have that works.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

