Home > Coding, Development Tools, ISPF, jQuery, Mainframe > More progress with ISPF on the web…

More progress with ISPF on the web…

Well, it’s been a bit of a battle but I’ve managed to get the basic dataset member and contents list function working to my satisfaction.

I decided to use the jQuery UI dialog function to create dialog boxes to display member lists and member and sequential dataset contents. I hit a few road blocks along the way, not least of which was propagating the capture of links so that I could get the data using jQuery Ajax functions.

One thing I found was that when you return a fragment of a page as a result of an ajax call, you can include fragments of javascript and they will be executed. The problem I had was that while this worked fine for the dataset list form (using the form plugin) it didn’t work when I intercepted the links myself.

Turns out that the jQuery Ajax functionality ($.get) executes the script before it invokes my callback routine to process the data. Since my callback has not run yet, the elements the script wants to manipulate (in the returned data) are not there yet so nothing worked!

In the end I managed to come up with a mechanism that propagated the link activity without having to embed script into the fragments but it was a pain to do.

One benefit though is that I am able to resize the dialog pop ups if need be inside that code. The best part was trying to find out if the pop up had scroll bars or not. Why is that so hard to do? Although in the end I found a really nice example of some code that I was able to modify to my needs.

Anyway, enough talk, here’s a couple of screen shots. The first shows multiple dialogs open with dataset member lists and contents.

The second screen shot shows that you can switch tabs and the dialogs remain open. Imagine this was another ISPF type function. Now you can mix and match the pop ups.

Because I am displaying info in pop up dialogs on the page, now I can start to think about drag and drop. For example I could drag a member from one member list to another to move or copy a member from one dataset to another.

Or I could copy a member or a dataset (from the dataset list) even onto a trash can icon to delete it.

Another thought I had was to have pre built jobs. Drag a job member onto a reader icon and it submits the job.

See, this stuff can be really REALLY cool!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

