Home > Coding, iPhone, JQTouch, jQuery > Desktop vs Touch

Desktop vs Touch

For my slider control I would ‘like’ it to work on both the desktop and touch environment, if only because it’s much easier to debug the script on the desktop than on the ipod!

I have been trying to figure out how to standardize the mouse and touch events between the desktop and the touch device but after a lot of too-ing and fro-ing I have decided it will be much easier NOT to do that and have, sad to say, two blocks of code, one for the the desktop and one for the ipod. As much as I hate this the differences are just too much for my feeble javascript skills to sort out so this seems the easiest approach. I am not quite sure how I will test the touch part on the desktop yet but I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it although I suspect some ‘test only ‘ code will be a big part of it!

Categories: Coding, iPhone, JQTouch, jQuery
  1. wolfie
    January 30, 2011 at 6:31 pm

    I’m also struggling with getting a slider to work on mobile devices. Have you had any luck getting this to work? Thanks, Rob

  2. January 30, 2011 at 9:53 pm

    Not yet but I’ve been lazy lately. I really need to get back to this.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

