Home > Coding, Development Tools, ISPF, jQuery, Mainframe, REXX > ISPF on the web – Version 2

ISPF on the web – Version 2

Just a quick update, more details and info to follow soon.

My initial iteration of ISPF on the web required the user to still log on to TSO/ISPF on a 3270 and then start the web server inside their TSO/ISPF session before accessing it via a browser.

Whilst this was an interesting exercise and learning experience, obviously it’s about as useful as a chocolate fireguard in practice.

Hence the move to version 2!

The UI experience in the browser is the same but the back end is significantly different, running inside the IBM stand alone HTTP web server.

I am still developing this in my spare time, but as soon as I get a demo up and running I shall be adding more information so stay tuned.

  1. November 20, 2011 at 5:16 am

    I’m hooked! You have my attention with this project. About a year or so ago I created a web front end of the OPS LOG at our shop (dated members) .

    The server was an older z/OS product…may have been “Infoweb”? It was already up and running as a PoC.

    It was a huge REXX project for me using very old techniques of navigating around using variables visible in the URL bar….the main contribution was creating a custom search engine for strings and multiple strings.

    A fun project getting to completion and used daily!

    I wanted to update with jQuery…I now see for myself that it’s possible with your project here.

    Thanks!!!

    -Pauly

  2. November 20, 2011 at 3:16 pm

    Thanks for the feedback. It’s reassuring to know that I am not the only one out there that thinks this is the ‘right’ way to access the mainframe (lean and simple) and using all the features of modern web apps.

    Don’t know if you saw this demo of my earlier version which was hosted inside of a TSO/ISPF screen session:

    https://davideellis.wordpress.com/2010/04/19/ispf-on-the-web-demo/

    The new version is pretty much the same but runs inside the stand alone web server so no need for a 3270 session to host it, There’s quite a few ‘gotchas’ in the implementation but in general it seems to work well.
    However I was trying to add context menus to the elements on the web page and I’ve gotten stuck a but there. All the ready made tools are either not to my liking or break my page. I’ve got a partial implementation working but need to find some time to get my head around finishing it of but the idea is there (even if the implementation is not yet).

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

